• Alert:

    Please see the revised school calendar/schedule under "News and Announcements" for 2020.11.19

Close alert

2020.11.19 Remote Learning Update

Thursday, November 19, 2020                                                 

Dear Students, Parents, Staff, and Community Members,

As we move closer to the holidays and cooler weather we also recognize the COVID-19 pandemic is progressing into a new “phase”. New daily case counts are climbing around the country, in our state, and in Athens County. What we have learned so far is that K-12 public education is doing a good job mitigating the spread of the virus. The majority of new cases are the result of the behaviors of people outside of school and work. Parties and social gatherings, including family events, are spreading the virus and causing many to be isolated or quarantined. Please keep in mind that the situation continues to change and it is very difficult to predict what may happen and how things may affect our plans moving forward. Federal Hocking Local Schools is announcing the following plans and adjustments to our calendar for in-person, hybrid, and remote learning:

November 2020

Week of November 16 – 20 (as currently scheduled)

Monday, November 16 – Cohort A

Tuesday, November 17 – Cohort A

Wednesday, November 18 – Cohort B

Thursday, November 19 – Cohort B

Friday, November 20 – Remote Learning for all students

 

Week of November 23 – 27 (CHANGED AS OF 11/19)

**Monday, November 23 – REMOTE LEARNING FOR ALL STUDENTS

**Tuesday, November 24 – REMOTE LEARNING FOR ALL STUDENTS

Wednesday, November 25 – Monday, November 30 – No School – Thanksgiving Break

Thursday, November 26 – No School – Thanksgiving Holiday

Friday, November 27 – No School – Thanksgiving Break

 

December

Week of November 30 – December 4

Monday, November 30 – No School

Tuesday, December 1 – Remote Learning for all students

Wednesday, December 2 – Remote Learning for all students

Thursday, December 3 – Remote Learning for all students

Friday, December 4 – Remote Learning for all students

 

Week of December 7 - 11

Monday, December 7 – Cohort A

Tuesday, December 8 – Cohort A

Wednesday, December 9 – Cohort B

Thursday, December 10 – Cohort B

Friday, December 11 – Remote Learning for all students

 

Week of December 14 - 18

Monday, December 14 – Cohort A

Tuesday, December 15 – Cohort A

Wednesday, December 16 – Cohort B

Thursday, December 17 – Cohort B

Friday, December 18 – Remote Learning for all students – Last Day of School before Winter Break

Extended Winter Break Monday, December 21 – Monday, January 18 – No School

 

Circumstances permitting, in-person learning will resume Wednesday, January 20 for ALL STUDENTS as per the following schedule:

 

January

Week of January 18 - 22

Monday, January 18 – Martin Luther King, Jr. Day – No School

Tuesday, January 19 – Remote Learning for all students

Wednesday, January 20 – All Students for in-person learning

Thursday, January 21 – All Students for in-person learning

Friday, January 22 – All Student for in-person learning

 

Week of January 25 - 29

Monday, January 25 – Remote Learning

Tuesday, January 26 – In-person

Wednesday, January 27 – In-person

Thursday, January 28 – In-person

Friday, January 29 – In-person

 

Masks will be required for all students and staff on school buses and in schools. Barriers will be used in locations where physical distancing is limited.

 

Remote Learning Days will be Mondays. Students will report for In-Person Learning Tuesday through Friday unless otherwise notified.

 

Two weeks will be added to the end of the academic year to compensate for the extended Winter Break.

 

Calamity Days will be Remote Learning Days unless otherwise notified.

 

All plans are subject to change if there is an outbreak in one of our schools. In the event that the school is unable to secure substitute coverage for teachers or bus drivers due to an outbreak or requirements to quarantine, individual schools or grade levels may shift to remote learning with minimal notice similar to how a calamity day is determined.

 

All Remote Option

Students can choose to stay remote for the remainder of the 2020-2021 school year. Please notify your school no later than Friday, December 4 if you wish to remain remote for the second semester. Once the commitment is made to stay remote students will not be able to shift to in-person learning.

 

All of these plans are subject to change. Our goal is to have students return for in-person instruction as soon as reasonably possible. While we must plan for this now, we also must recognize that we may need to pivot to the hybrid or remote models given local data or other orders handed down from Governor DeWine or the Ohio Department of Health. In order to keep our students in school and participating in their activities it is imperative that all of us do our part. As we approach the holiday season all of us should be mindful that community spread is happening due to parties, family events and other social gatherings. Please be reminded of the following measures to keep everyone safe:

  1. Wear masks properly when around others that don’t live in your household
  2. Keep ourselves as distant from others as reasonably possible
  3. Avoid large gatherings and events when possible

 

Thank you for your continued patience and flexibility in this unprecedented time. I appreciate the sacrifices and the hard work of so many staff and community members to provide the best we can for all of our students. We will get through this crisis through cooperation, compassion for each other and a willingness to do what is best for everyone.

 

Sincerely,
David Hanning, Superintendent

Federal Hocking Local Schools





Back to School News       Print News Article